Professor, Department of Physics & Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Owerri

Prof. Francis C. Eze

Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Eze


Federal University of Technology, Owerri
Professor of Physics
B.Sc. (Nig.), M.Sc. (Dundee), PhD (Nig.), FIIAN, FSESN, FNIP, KSJI, JP.


Professor F.C. Eze acquired B.Sc. in Physics (Second Class Upper Division) from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1980, Masters in Physics and Technology of Amorphous Materials from the University of Dundee, Dundee, Scotland in 1984, PhD in Experimental Solid State Physics and Materials Science from University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1995 and Post-Doctoral Fellow at Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Madras, India between 1995 and 1996 respectively.

The erudite scholar has had a long academic history that shaped the milestones he has achieved in over 31 years of University Teaching, Research and Administrative experience spread over seven universities both within and outside Nigeria, within which he supervised and examined over 300 research projects at B.Sc. B.Tech, M.Sc. and PhD levels.

Professor F.C. Eze became a Reader in Physics on October 1, 1999, and subsequently rose to the enviable rank of a Professor of Physics on October 1, 2003.

He has served the Federal University of Technology, Owerri in several key capacities where his impacts were tremendously felt: Vice-Chancellor 2016 to date; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) 2013-2016; Chairman, Junior Staff Disciplinary Committee 2013-2016; Chairman, Ceremonial Committee 2011-2016; Senate elected member for the 9th Governing Council 2009-2013; Chairman Committee of Deans 2011-2012; Two-term elected Dean, School of Science 2008-2012; Head of Department of Physics 2006-2008;  Pioneer Coordinator SLTTP/Pre-Degree Programme, 2003-2004; Associate Dean, School of Science 2001-2003; Ag. Head, Department of Physics 1996-2000; Coordinator, Science Laboratory Technology Training Programme (SLTTP) 1994-1995;

Moreover, he has also served as Chairman, FUTO Bus Service Management Board 2013-2016; Chairman, School of Postgraduate Committee, 2008-2012; Chairman, School of Science, Examination and Timetable Committee 2000-2003; Member, Board of Directors FUTO Microfinance Bank Limited 2013-2016; Member, Board of Directors, FUTO Water Limited 2013-2016; Member, Board of Directors, FUTO Bookshop Limited, 2013-2016; Member, Board of Directors, FUTO Guest House Limited 2013-2016; Member, Board of Directors, FUTO Consult Limited, 2013-2016; Chairman, School of Science Appraisal Committee, 2008-2012 and Member, Honourary Degree Committee 2012-2016.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email