History of the Department

The history of the Department is traced to the history and evolution of the School of Environmental Technology. The 5th Vice-Chancellor of the University, late Prof. C.O.E Onwuliri, at the 15th General Assembly of the Federal University of Technology Owerri, on July 6, 2006, assured that a new School of Environmental Technology (SOET) comprising the Departments of Environmental Technology, Building Technology, Quantity Surveying,  Architecture, Surveying and Geo-informatics, and Urban and Regional Planning will be created. Consequently, the Senate of the Federal University of Technology at its meeting on August 3, 2006, accepted the establishment of the school. This decision was conveyed to the National Universities Commission (NUC) Executive Secretary, Prof. Julius Okojie for approval. Thus, the Department of Quantity Surveying Technology after much paperwork which includes curriculum development became one of the proposed departments that gained approval. The department is fully accredited by the Nigerian Institute of Quantity Surveyors, Quantity Surveyors Registration Board of Nigeria and National University Commission.

Past Head of Department

  1. Engr C I. Igbojiaku (July 2012 – July 2014).
  2. E.A.G. Ofoegbu FNIQS (July 2014 – July 2018).

Left Menu Icon

Driving the Culture of Excellence

Right Menu Icon