School of Health Technology

Dental Technology



The department of Dental Technology was established following the approval granted by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in 2002 for the establishment of the School of Health Technology (SOHT). The department started in response to the quest to have a degree-awarding program in Dental Technology in Nigeria. With its inception, FUTO became the first so far, the only university in Nigeria to offer a degree program in Dental Technology. The pioneer head of the department was Dr M.S Amaeshi who worked with a team of academic, technical and administrative staff to get the program started. Other pioneer staff include Mr Kenneth O Okeke and Miss Gertrude Iwueke (who are Dental technologists). The preceding H.O.D. was Dr J.O Ogunbowale and presently, Dr C.C. Iwuala.
The program started with 10 students who were admitted in 2003, at present, the department has an estimated number of 118 students with an average of 24 in each class. The number of staff has also increased tremendously with an increase in student intake. The department has interim accreditation status following the National Universities Commission (NUC) exercise in 2006.

Dr Chimezie Christian Iwuala

Head of Department, Dental Technology
View Profile

Print Friendly, PDF & Email