Department of Geology

About us


The Federal University of Technology, Owerri was established in 1980/81 academic year. The first School to be established was the School of Natural and Applied Science (now School of Physical Sciences) with two programme areas: the physical sciences programme area and the chemical sciences programme area. Each programme area was under a director who was responsible to the Dean of School. The Department of Geology was one of the programmes established on the Physical Sciences programme area directed by Prof. A. Nduka. The Director then served as the Co-ordinator of the programme because there was no Co-ordinator for Geology.

The first set of students (21 in number) was admitted in the 1981/82 session. There was one staff member on the seat. Mr W. Grabs, an expatriate lecturer. In 1983, Dr S. E. Ananaba, a Geophysicist/Meteorologist joined the programme followed by Dr P. O. Okeke, a Geochemist and Geophysicist in 1984. Dr Okeke was the first geologist to serve as the Co-ordinator of the programme. Other staff who joined the department later were Dr Kas Ibe, Hydrogeologist (1984), Dr G. I. Nwankwor, Hydrogeologist (1985), Mr A. Nwachukwu, Technologist (1985), Mr A. I. Selemo, Geophysicist (1986), Dr C. J. Iwuagwu, sedimentologist/petroleum Geologist (1988), Mr N. N. Onu, Geophysicist (1990), Mr A. G. Essien, Paleontologist/Stratigrapher (1992), Mr O. C. Okeke, Engineering Geologist (1994), Mr A.B. Ofulume, Mineralogist (1995), Mr A. A. Onunkwo, Hydrogeologist (1997), and Mr C. A. Ahiarakwem, Hydrogeologist (1998), among others.

The department has graduated so many students who are doing well in their fields of endeavours. Some of its First Class graduates are Ibeneme Sabinus Ikechukwu (2001/2002), Umahi Otuka (2002/2003), Ujowundu T.L. (2003/2004), Amaesi K. U. (2003/2004), Ezekiel Justin (2007/2008), Amadi Marcellius (2008/2009), Aniagboso Stephen (2009/2010), Ajaebili Philip (2009/2010), Okoli Austin (2010/2011), Usen Osahon (2011/2012), Mbagwu Esther (2012/2013), Ohenhen Leonard (2016/2017), Urom Obinna (2017/2018). The department produced its first PhD graduate in August 2007 when Prof. C. A. Ahiarakwem successfully defended his Thesis. The department has produced over twenty (20) PhD graduates.

Currently, the department has 30 academic staff covering all areas of specialization in Geology, ten technologists and one Laboratory Supervisor. Presently, the department has a student population of over 250 students in the two programmes of the department.

Successive Heads of Departments

The department has been administered over the years by the following staff:
S/N Names Duration
1. Prof. P. O. Okeke 1984-1989
2. Prof. S. E. Ananaba 1989-1992
3. Prof. G. I. Nwankwor 1992-1996
4. Prof. C. J. Iwuagwu 1996-2000
5. Prof. K. M. Ibe  2000-2002
6. Prof. N. N. Onu 2002-2006
7. Dr. A. O. I. Selemo   2006-2008
8. Prof. C. J. Iwuagwu  2008-2010
9. Dr. O. C. Okeke 2010-2012
10. Prof. K. K. Ibe  2012-2014
11. Dr. C. C. Z. Akaolisa 2014-2016
12. Dr. O. C. Okeke 2016-2018
13. Prof. S. O. Onyekuru 2018-2019
14. Prof. C. A. Ahiarakwem  2019
15. Dr Alexander Iheanyichukwu Opara 2019-date



To attain excellence in all its scholastic and geoscientific endeavours and to produce skilled and value-laden graduates.


To identify the geoscientific problems and needs of the society and to proffer solutions to them through high-skilled geoscientific teaching and research.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email