Department of Physics



Some significant fundamental and applied research contributions have been recorded by the research groups of the Department in the areas of theoretical physics, experimental and theoretical condensed matter physics, semiconductor physics, materials science and astrophysics. Most of the research findings have been published in highly reputable international journals. Many of our academic staff have won international laurels, e.g. fellowships of the AbdusSalam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), International Committee of Scientific Unions (ICSU), World Bank Nigerian Institute of Physics, Solar Energy Society of Nigeria, etc. We have been very active in national and international conferences and workshops, e.g. Nigerian Institute of Physics, National Mathematical Centre, Regional Workshops on Nanoscale Science and on Lasers in Ghana and Summer Workshops on Condensed Matter Physiscs at the Abdus Salam ICTP, Trieste, Italy.

We have been in the executive committee of the Physics Writers Series Creation (formally the Nigerian Universities Physics Series) since 2002 and also on the Board of the Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council as well as the Council of the Nigerian Institute of Physics and the Governing Council of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri.

In university administration, the current 7th substantive Vice-Chancellor and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (RD&I) are both from Physics Department.  We have previously produced a Vice-Chancellor for the University, three (3) Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Dean of the School of Science (two times), a pioneer Dean of the School of Physical Sciences, University Admissions Officer, Directors and Deputy Directors of various University centers and members of University council.

As a result of the high productivity of its academic staff, the Department now has on its staff a total of 8 full professors. Among the full Professors is a product of this Department in the person of Prof. B. C. Anusionwu. It is also pertinent to point out that in 1987, Prof. A. Nduka became the second Vice-Chancellor of this University. Many members of academic staff, includingthe late Prof. B. N. Onwuagba, Prof. F. C. Eze, Prof. C. E. Akujor, Prof. B. C. Anusionwu, Prof. I. C. Ndukwe, Prof. I.M. Mejeha, Prof. C. E. Orji, Prof. (Mrs) C.A. Madu and Prof. D.D.O. Eya have been appointed External Examiners to undergraduate and postgraduate programmes of many Nigerian Universities.

Many of our recent graduates have won overseas scholarships and are studying in some of the best Universities in Europe and USA, such as: Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden; Universities of Konstanz and Stuttgart, Germany, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Massachusetts, Bridge Port University, Connecticut, USA, Sheffield Hallam University UK. Some time ago, a student of our Department – Mr. Abdulwahab came first in the aptitude test organized by Schlumberger Oil Services Company for students going on industrial training in the whole country. Many of our graduates have also won competitive job placements and have attained executive and international staff cadres in diverse key industries such as Sclumberger, Shell Petroleum Development Company, Chevron, Exxon-Mobil, Saipen Engineering Company, Banks, Insurance Companies, etc. Indeed, employers have attested to the high performance of our graduates at their jobs.

We are not resting on our oars, however. We are striving hard to attain our set millennium strategic goals by regularly reviewing our curricula for better service delivery and to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email